Why I’m Not a Charismatic (with 2 images)

JP: I saw this blog article today: Why I’m Not a Charismatic . The article starts like this:

If someone were to ask me, “Are you a Charismatic/Continuationist?” I would answer, “No.” If I was then asked to explain why, in 100 words or less, my response would look something like the following …

I’ve been around charismatics my entire Christian life – see my testimony here. At the time of my salvation …

[I] hung out with a diverse group of Christians: Pentecostals, Presbyterians and Hebrew Christians. As I spent time with Brenda’s friends I was, in somewhat of a “sideways” way, introduced to Christ. They carried Bibles (not the leather bound kind but hardbound with University of Cincinnati book covers), talked about things of God and prayed. I enjoyed my times with them in the Student Union and the cafeteria. I played hearts and UNO with them. This was a different (seemed much better to me) crowd than the drinking and partying crowd.

I was exposed to the charismatic movement at both the University of Cincinnati (from where I graduated) and at the University of Buffalo (where I served as a campus missionary). I’ve had charismatic Christian friends at multiple job locations: Digital Equipment Corporation, Norwest and now at Wells Fargo.

Here’s why I reject the modern charismatic movement – I can tell the difference between that which is real and that which is counterfeit. I illustrated this once to a young man by showing him a real silver quarter from my numismatic collection. In one hand was a pre-1965 silver quarter and in my other a copper-nickel clad quarter that has been minted since 1965. Here’s a nice close up of the edge of a copper-nickel clad quarter. You can search Ebay for pre-1965 quarters … some call them “real quarters”. Click for an Ebay search. You will notice that these quarters cost much more than 25¢!

But for a more dramatic contrast consider a gold-foil chocolate coin (image at the top of the page). You can buy a pound of them here for $ 8.99. The second image is a one once gold South African Krugerrand. Um …. they cost about $ 1,500. You can by them here. One is a child’s treat! The other a store against inflation.

I’m not a charismatic because I’ve seen nothing that would indicate that the modern “gift of tongues” is anything like what happened in Acts 2:4-12 (or the other instances of tongues in the book of Acts). Here’s a question that charismatics should answer: Why do Assembly of God missionaries go to language school?

For another man’s view see this chicken scratchings comment with illustration.

