“A blatant contradiction of at least a dozen perfectly clear verses in the Holy Scripture”

JP: Worthwhile read

What Part of ‘Everlasting Possession’ Does This Man Not Understand?

In October Pope Benedict XVI met with leaders of other churches in communion with the Roman Catholic Church to discuss the increasing persecution of Christians in the Middle East. The closing statement on Oct. 23, however, as issued by Archbishop Cyril Salim Bustros of the Melkite Greek Catholic Church, landed far afield from that synod’s declared intent.

“For Christians, one can no longer talk of the land promised to the Jewish people,” the archbishop said, because the “promise” was “abolished by the presence of Christ.”

Oh?

Because I’m not a member of his church, perhaps I shouldn’t let it bother me that the archbishop has taken it upon himself to proclaim that the Bible is wrong and the Jewish people are no longer chosen by God, especially since my Bible doesn’t say anything of the kind. But it does bother me.

It bothers me because it is a blatant contradiction of at least a dozen perfectly clear verses in the Holy Scripture, which the Catholic Church – both Greek and Roman – claims to uphold as the Word of God. It bothers me because it’s impossible to tell if the pope, the head of the entire Catholic Church, backs the archbishop’s statement or not. And it bothers me, well, because it seems to bother so few other people.

