Peter’s traveler’s motif

JP: I find Peter’s use of traveling words and phrases of interest.

Pilgrims / Exiles: “To the pilgrims of the Dispersion in Pontus, Galatia, Cappadocia, Asia, and Bithynia” (1 Peter 1:2) (ESV: “To those who are elect exiles of the dispersion”)

Reservation: “to an inheritance incorruptible and undefiled and that does not fade away, reserved in heaven for you” (1 Peter 1:4)

Time of your stay (tour of duty!): “conduct yourselves throughout the time of your stay here in fear” (1 Peter 1:17)

Entrance: “for so an entrance will be supplied to you abundantly into the everlasting kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.” (2 Peter 1:11)

Tent: “Yes, I think it is right, as long as I am in this tent, to stir you up by reminding you, knowing that shortly I must put off my tent, just as our Lord Jesus Christ showed me.” (2 Peter 1:13-14)

Departure: “Moreover I will be careful to ensure that you always have a reminder of these things after my decease” (2 Peter 1:15) (ESV: “after my departure” / Greek: ἔξοδος / exodos)

