The wrong way to pray for our President

The correct way:

Therefore I exhort first of all that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks be made for all men, 2 for kings and all who are in authority, that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and reverence. 3 For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Savior (1 Timothy 2:1-3)

What’s wrong with the bumper sticker? Read below

Change the Bumper Sticker

Excerpts:

I contend that Psalm 109:8 is an illegitimate request to pray for our President.

First, notice that David wrote this psalm as the king of Israel himself. It is directed against the enemies of his throne and his people. This is a prayer for rulers, especially Christian rulers, to make against rogue nations, not for private citizens to pray against their own ruler. (For more on this point, read James Montgomery Boice in his Expositional Commentary Series.)

Second, remember that David personally refused to hurt the king ruling over him, even when Saul mistreated him and threatened his life (I Sam. 24:6-7). David disagreed with aspects of Saul’s agenda, but his conviction that political rulers are established by God did not change.

I am convicted that I do not pray for my President more than I do. But it is irresponsible to apply Psalm 109:8 to this solemn obligation. I am thankful for my President, whether I agree with his policies or not. I suggest that this bumper sticker change the scripture reference to I Timothy 2:1-3.

