1969: First inauguration of Richard Nixon

While I was 20 at the time of the 1968 Presidential election, this was before the Twenty-sixth Amendment to the United States Constitution that lowered the voting age to 18.

As I recollect the major issue was the Vietnam war! Richard Nixon campaigned on a theme to restore “law and order“, end the draft, and appoint conservative judges. After the 1967-68 riots that impacted many urban areas (including Cincinnati where I lived and even Minneapolis (Minneapolis North Side Riots, July 19-20, 1967)!), the law and order theme appealed to many voters! What I remember most was “end the (hated) draft“. I would have voted for him! President Nixon was inaugurated on January 20th, 1969.

Consider also: 311 – My draft lottery number. Note in the inauguration photo above – Billy Graham on the right!

