1969: I learn to program

But if any provide not for his own, and specially for those of his own house, he hath denied the faith, and is worse than an infidel. (I Timothy 5:8)

Let him who stole steal no longer, but rather let him labor, working with his hands what is good, that he may have something to give him who has need. (Ephesians 4:28)

JP: I can’t begin to to explain how much computing has changed over 40 years. Both Kathee and I have a lot of anecdotes about this. While I happened into computer programming, in the providence of God the skills learned  then have  enabled me to provide for my family.

The University of Cincinnati had a program then that enabled one to take any class over the paid for 15 hours for free. So if one enrolled and paid for 15 hours, he could take another class or two for free. (Of course one had to by the books, attend the classes, turn in the assignments, take the tests and earn the grade). I took a lot of electives like this: swimming, hand ball, tennis, Black History, investing, and computer programming.

I took a Fortran IV class then. We used the school’s mainframe IBM 360/65. We had to enter our code, and our data on 80 column cards via an IBM 129 keypunch. If one made one keying mistake, you had to trash the card and start over! Because the school computer was used for processing during the day, we had to submit our program and wait over night (for the night’s processing) to see if the program compiled without errors and worked as it was intended. Enterprising students would go to the data center in the wee-hours of morning to program, submit the cards, and get the turn around in perhaps as little as 20 minutes.

While learning to program back in 1969 is not directly related to my salvation; the training I received then provided marketable skills that have enabled me to earn a living, provide for my own and my family’s needs,  and advance in my career.

