Teach us to number our days

Thanatos

Image is: Thanatos, the Greek personification of Death (compare The Grim Reaper)

So teach us to number our days,That we may gain a heart of wisdom. (Psalm 90:12 )

Are you familiar with Actuarial science? You may find this table interesting.

Today I turned 60! I was born August 19th, 1949 in Fort Wayne Indiana. Of 100,000 baby boys born that year, 84,891 are still alive and 15,109 are deceased. From this table I see that the average life expectancy for my birth year peers is 20.42 years and that there is a 1.2% probability of dying this year! You may want to check the table for your own age! My dear Mother is 89. Of 100,000 girls born in 1920, 29,291 are alive and 70,709 have died.

On birthdays it’s good to “count one’s days”. A helpful resource is John Piper’s Don’t Waste Your Life. Dr Piper has graciously permitted this book to be read online for free! Worth a look!

