Blowups and Meltdowns

Meltdown

Blowup

JP: A good read on “self control”

Young men: Learn self-control

Excerpt:

Two sports events this weekend, one seen across the globe, the other far more mundane, provided me with an opportunity to teach my six-year-old son a crucial lesson in biblical manhood.

The first event unfolded Saturday on a little league diamond near our home in a game involving my son. After getting a hit in each of his first two at-bats, Jeffrey grounded out to first base. He stroked a nice, hard grounder, but the first baseman made an even nicer play. A runner moved from second to third base on the play and thus it was, in baseball parlance, a productive out.

As his coach, I was pleased. As his father, I was less pleased, however, by what happened next: Jeffrey threw his batting helmet in anger. In the dugout, he knocked around some equipment and even gave his glove a brisk toss. Now, this is certainly no way to treat your equipment, but that is beside the point. As the team went back into the field for the next inning, I kept Jeffrey in the dugout with me. “You’re out of the game for the rest of the day,” I told him. Needless to say, he wasn’t thrilled.

After the game, we talked about sportsmanship and self-control and idolatry and doing all things to the glory of God. We talked about the humbling nature of baseball, how even Ted Williams failed seven times in 10, how you must put failure behind you and how the game parallels the Christian pilgrimage. Self-control and learning how to fail gracefully are critical lessons for future men to learn; they are a critical part of manhood, a critical part of a man’s ability to lead well.

Comment: I’ve had my own “blowups” and “meltdowns” of which I am ashamed. I trust we might surrender to the Holy Spirit and manifest true Christ-likeness in difficult situations.

Polar Bear image source: Frodes technical rants

Lava image source: University of Hawaii at Hilo

