What is wrong with anything?

JP: Worthwhile article on morals and sexuality. This is more than a “don’t do it” article! Trust you will read it!

What’s Wrong with Sex Before Marriage?

Excerpt:

What is wrong with sex before marriage? How about: ‘What is wrong with anything?’ In other words, where do you get the moral code by which you live your life? There may be a whole number of different responses: ‘I do what I feel is right’ – my morals are entirely personal and arbitrary. Or ‘society decides what is right and wrong’ – laws are made and as long as I stick within them everything is OK. Or anything in between those two responses.

For us as Christians, right and wrong are not purely up to the individual; after all, what you feel is good for you may hurt me. It is not only up to society either; lots of societies have allowed things to be ‘legal’ that you or I might take issue with. Right and wrong for the Christian come from a higher standard than any individual or group of humans – they come from God. The creator is also the moral lawgiver. So when I say that I believe that sex is designed to be expressed within marriage, I am not setting myself up as judge and jury and deciding to make life difficult for single people – I am trying to follow the maker’s instructions.

It may sound strange, but this question about sex is actually a vitally important question for many in the search for God. In fact, sometimes sexual and moral issues provide the main foundation for a person not believing in God.

Image by Free-StockPhotos.com

