Swine flu redux

Changes are happening all around us and with change comes uncertainty! For example:

Work: Recently my employer merged with another large bank and we are in the process of merging processes, personnel, and systems. Every other week or so there is another organizational announcement. Just last week my manager of three years moved to another area and I officially have no manager (until the next round of organizatonal announcements expected by the end of May). Friday I had coffee with a co-worker. He expressed concern that his job might be moved off-shore (India). I myself wonder about how this merger will impact my own job. In the South East is a woman who for the other organization does what is essentially the same job as mine. I’m pretty certain that the newly merged company doesn’t need both of us!

The economy: Wow how bad could this get? Seemingly every week there is a another round of job losses. Is my job safe? Will I get laid off?

International news: The Iranian President announces that Israel “will soon be erased from the geographical scene”. North Korean launches a ballistic missile and advances their nuclear program. One’s almost afraid to check out CNN!

Influenza pandemic: And now we hear that our government is preparing for a full swine flu pandemic!

The recent swine flu news made Kathee and I think back to 1976 when we were mere newlyweds and there was another swine flu scare. The photo above is President Ford receiving his swine flu shot back then. Kathee and I had ours as well. If interested you can read more about those days here:

Uncertainty is paralyzing! I’ve chosen to live in the realm of the certain! There’s a lot I don’t know. I try to discipline myself (and I have not perfected this!) to focus on what I do know. I encourage you to read your Bible looking for promises of God! Some key Scripture:

[He has] given to us exceedingly great and precious promises, that through these you may be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust. (2 Peter 1:4)

[because] it is impossible for God to lie, we might have strong consolation, who have fled for refuge to lay hold of the hope set before us (Hebrews 6:18)

These things I have written to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, that you may know that you have eternal life, and that you may continue to believe in the name of the Son of God. (1 John 5:13)

