Disappearing?

JP: Some are already gone (the milk man!). Below is the original list – the article has a full paragraph on each and is worthwhile to read. I add my comments in “()” after some.

24 Things About to Disappear in America

The list:

  1. The Family Farm (Now the “Hobby Farm”)
  2. Analog TV (I’m impressed with the quality of over the air DTV)
  3. News Magazines and TV News (My Newsweek subscription expires in March and I won’t be renewing)
  4. Honey Bees (We can’t live without them! Colony Collapse Disorder. Also explained in The Bee Movie)
  5. Mumps & Measles (Mumps .. never had them!)
  6. Drive-in Theaters (There is still one in the Twin Cities: list of ’em in Minnesota)
  7. Personal Checks (I am on a personal campaign to NOT write checks. Last year I only wrote 4. One was to the Boy Scouts and it took 3 months to clear. Use on-line Bill Pay from you-know-whose-bank)
  8. Wild Horses (A great place to see them: Assateague Island)
  9. Hand-Written Letters (A solution with an illustration)
  10. The Milkman
  11. Stand-Alone Bowling Alleys (I’ve thought about buying one in retirement … or a pool hall. The better half wisely will veto!)
  12. Incandescent Bulbs (Until they can get the CFL’s to really last as long as advertised and to work in cold weather, incandescents will remain. Also CFL’s contain mercury, which complicates their disposal. More here)
  13. Cameras That Use Film (I still have a 35 mm SLR but I never use it)
  14. Answering Machines (Here’s a neat service that is free: Grand Central)
  15. The Swimming Hole (also ice skating on private property … law suits killed them!)
  16. Ham Radio (Radios for Pigs??? My Dad was a Ham enthusiast)
  17. Ash Trees (We have on in our front yard)
  18. VCRs (Years ago someone gave me a Betamax)
  19. Chesapeake Bay Blue Crabs (I think this is a shame but regardless I won’t eat crabs, OR lobster or oyster or escargot)
  20. Phone Landlines (see my comment above about answering machines)
  21. Dial-up Internet Access (Try the 56K modem emulator)
  22. Movie Rental Stores (The Red Box concept is pretty cool)
  23. Classified Ads (the death of which is hurting the newspaper industry)
  24. Yellow Pages (You can go to yellowpages.com and opt out!)

HT: Between Two Worlds

Others on the decline – supplied by me:

  • V-8‘s | A nice technical article on a V-8 is here.
  • Fiscal conservatism (see the non-partisan Concord Coalition website.
  • Saving up to buy something.
  • The traditional nuclear family and monogamy.
  • Babies (not yet extinct but hunted! (See FOCA))
  • Waiting until marriage
  • Shame about not waiting for marriage
  • Solid Bible teaching churches (thank God for 4th Baptist Church and others like it!)

I find this question sobering:

Nevertheless, when the Son of Man comes, will He really find faith on the earth? (Luke 18:8 )

Our challenge is to pass the pure faith on to this generation and the next:

  • “I found it necessary to write to you exhorting you to contend earnestly for the faith which was once for all delivered to the saints” (Jude 3)
  • “And the things that you have heard from me among many witnesses, commit these to faithful men who will be able to teach others also” (2 Timothy 2:2)
