“We plod on in the promise of 1 Corinthians 2:9”

JP: Mentioned earlier as a prayer request here: A Shadowlands Letter.

News from his church: Pastor Dan Cummings

It is with great sadness that the elders of Five Points Community Church inform you that Pastor Dan Cummings passed away on Thursday, February 5, 2009, at around 9:30 PM, after a 10-month fight against cancer. We rejoice, however, that Dan has ‘entered into the joy of his Master.’ We thank you for your love and concern for Dan and his family and the church and ask that you please keep the Cummings family in your prayers.

One of Dan Cummings final blog entries was on January 22nd, 2009:

So we plod on in the promise of 1 Corinthians 2:9—But, as it is written, “What no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor the heart of man imagined, what God has prepared nor those who love him” and the hope of Jonathan Edwards’ contemplation … “The enjoyment of [God] is the only happiness with which our souls can be satisfied. To go to heaven, fully to enjoy God, is infinitely better than the most pleasant accommodations here. Fathers and mothers, husband, wives, or children, or the company of earthly friends, are but shadows; but God is the substance. These are but scattered beams, but God is the sun. These are but streams. But God is the ocean.”

A tribute to Dan Cummings by Gregory S Yoder:

Excerpts:

“We’re beggars who happened to have found bread” is a quote I remember vividly sitting under the teaching of Dan Cummings. As I looked at Dan for the first time I thought, “Wow, he’s small.” Then after listening to him for the first time I thought, “Dan, I want MORE…give me more.”

I sat under Dan’s teaching for just three short years. But, today I still consider him THE man who helped me understand my salvation and what Christ’s death on the cross accomplished for me. HE’S the one God chose to share the truth of the Gospel at a pivotal point in my life.

