“Tell me, how should a person pray during a crisis like this?”

JP: A worthwhile read on prayer.

A Surefire Investment: How to pray in the midst of financial catastrophe

Excerpts:

The first stage is simple, an instinctive cry: “Help!” For someone who faces a job cut or health crisis or watches retirement savings wither away, prayer offers a way to voice fear and anxiety. I have learned to resist the tendency to edit my prayers so that they sound sophisticated and mature. I believe God wants us to come exactly as we are, no matter how childlike we may feel. A God aware of every sparrow that falls surely knows the impact of scary financial times on frail human beings.

A time of crisis presents a good opportunity to identify the foundation on which I construct my life. If I place my ultimate trust in financial security or in the government’s ability to solve my problems, I will surely watch the basement flood and the walls crumble.

Bio of Philip Yancey

