“Is it possible to have life in Christ without love for Christ?”

JP: My response to the “World from my Window – ‘Question of the Day’“. Click to the site to see my full response including dropping the “n” from “men

Here is the “TULIPBURGER” response (the picture of which looks very unhealthy – but very tasty!):

“We love Him because He first loved us.” (I John 4:19).

To personalize it: In the life of Jim Peet, God initiated the relationship! I responded because He chose to love me! Had He not chosen to love me, I would not have loved Him.

If God loves all men in the same way, it would seem that all would love Him. That they do not seems to indicate a limited purpose of the cross.

True Christians love Him!

I Corinthians 16:22, “If anyone does not love the Lord Jesus Christ, let him be accursed. O Lord, come!”

There may be varying degrees of love for Christ among various men. And there may be varying degrees of love in the life of a single believer. Redeemed but still fallen men will not perfectly love the Lord.

Genuine love for the Lord will manifest itself in obedience (again in varying degrees depending upon maturity and yieldedness) to the Lord (1 John 4:19-21)

For my TULIPBURGER comment see Jay Adams Reaffirms the Importance of Limited Atonement and the picture of the giant (looks like a Red Robin) burger.

