Worth far above rubies

JP: 34 years ago today (2 pm Eastern time), Kathee and I were joined in marriage in Temple Terrace Florida. I thank God for the lovely wife that God in His gracious providence provided to me. In many ways I think that Kathee is a better wife to me than I am a husband to her. Wedding memories:

  • My Sister-in-law threw rice all around the interior of my car. Oh I was angry about this. We went to a car wash right away to have it vacuumed out. Years later when we traded the car in, we were still finding rice in the interior. (see picture below – a ’73 Plymouth)
  • Kathee and I spent the first night of our honeymoon at the Don CeSar on St. Pete Beach, Florida. The Honeymoon suite was $ 50.
  • We traveled around Florida for a week. Every other night we stayed in “Eight Days Inns”. Back then it was $ 8.88 to a night. (Now known as “Day’s Inn”).
  • We visited Sea World, Boc Tower, the Kennedy Space center, St. Augustine, and Tallahassee.
  • I ate my first Egg McMuffin on our honeymoon. They were just being introduced into McDonalds.
  • How times have changed: The check to the minister (for officiating at the wedding) was $ 10. I still have the canceled check. I had hair. I was thin! This was pre-spinal cord injury so no crutches!

This post is about remembering an event 34 years ago. But it is also a celebration of the divine institution of marriage. I find these verses instructional:

  • “And the LORD God said, ‘It is not good that man should be alone; I will make him a helper comparable to him.’” (Genesis 2:18)
  • “An excellent wife is the crown of her husband” (Proverbs 12:4)
  • “He who finds a wife finds a good thing,And obtains favor from the LORD.” (Proverbs 18:22)
  • “Houses and riches are an inheritance from fathers, But a prudent wife is from the LORD” (Proverbs 19:14)
  • “Who can find a virtuous wife? For her worth is far above rubies” (Proverbs 31:10)
  • “rejoice with the wife of your youth” (Proverbs 5:18)

Some old pics:

