Thinking through voting dilemmas

JP: Fictional conversation between a professor and two students asking about voting priorities. Second article is below the blockquote.

HT: Denny Burk

Ballot Box Blues

Excerpt:

Don and Theresa had asked me for critique of their term papers from the previous semester. We were almost finished talking, or so I thought. “Does that help?” I asked.

“Yes, a lot,” said Theresa. She glanced at Don. “What do you think? Should we ask him?”

Don said, “Go for it.”

I gave them an interrogative glance. Theresa asked, “Professor T, we have a different kind of question. Do you mind taking off your professor hat and putting on your older-Christian-mentor hat?”

“I don’t mind,” I said, “but are any other students waiting for me?”

Don glanced into the hallway. “Nope.”

“Then go ahead. What’s on your minds?”

“Elections are coming up,” Theresa said.

“So I’ve noticed.”

“Some of the choices are easy,” she said, “but some are really hard.”

“You know I can’t —”

Don finished my sentence for me. “— tell us who to vote for. Of course not. We wouldn’t ask you to. But maybe you can help us think through a dilemma.”

“Maybe. What’s the dilemma?”

“Well,” said Don, “none of the candidates are perfect.”

I grinned. “Has there ever been a perfect candidate?”

“So what do we do?” he asked.

“If you can’t find a perfect candidate, vote for the least imperfect.”

Theresa broke in. “Don’t you mean the least evil?”

“It could come to that.”

Read entire article


JP: Good read by John Piper.

Let Christians Vote As Though They Were Not Voting

Excerpt:

Voting is like marrying and crying and laughing and buying. We should do it, but only as if we were not doing it. That’s because “the present form of this world is passing away” and, in God’s eyes, “the time has grown very short.” Here’s the way Paul puts it:

The appointed time has grown very short. From now on, let those who have wives live as though they had none, and those who mourn as though they were not mourning, and those who rejoice as though they were not rejoicing, and those who buy as though they had no goods, and those who deal with the world as though they had no dealings with it. For the present form of this world is passing away. (1 Corinthians 7:29-31)

