Plug in / Connect

A man whom I greatly respect frequently used these words: “plug in” … “connect”

JP: It’s Friday afternoon and I am at my office downtown. My office is in shambles (perhaps an exaggeration!) but I am packing up my stuff in preparation to my move to 255 2Nd Ave S. I need to pack at least 5 boxes today.

I’ve been thinking about the 4th Baptist Young Adults and where we are and where we are going.

One of Pastor McLachlan’s sayings was that we were (as a church) endeavoring to be a 1st century church in the 21st century. Just exactly what does that mean and is it achievable?

What does it mean? We would need to look at the Acts and the Epistles to find what the early church was like. From Acts 2:24-27, “And they continued steadfastly in the apostles’ doctrine and fellowship, in the breaking of bread, and in prayers. Then fear came upon every soul, and many wonders and signs were done through the apostles. Now all who believed were together, and had all things in common, and sold their possessions and goods, and divided them among all, as anyone had need. So continuing daily with one accord in the temple, and breaking bread from house to house, they ate their food with gladness and simplicity of heart, praising God and having favor with all the people. And the Lord added to the church daily those who were being saved.” Frankly there are some things recorded here that we do not do or experience. Most in our circles believe that the sign gifts have ceased with the completion of the New Testament canon. In our day and age, we don’t sell all of our goods and divide the proceeds among all. But certainly there are some things that we can endeavor to do: we can follow the apostles’ doctrine. We can fellowship. We can be “of one accord”. And we can be blessed by God. From the epistles we see the “one another” commands. Each of these commands incorporate the phrase “one another”. I blogged on this earlier here. These commands are very key. Look at these: “love one another”, “receive one another”, “greet one another”, “serve one another”. I challenge us to excel in the practice of these!

Is “being a 1st century church in the 21st century” achievable? Well there are some things about the first century (whatever that was like) that I’m sure I’m not interested in. When I was a child our family used to camp at Spring Mill State Park . Spring Mill features a 19th century restored pioneer village with a grist mill, blacksmith shop, tavern, distillery, gardens, and a dozen houses or so. Spring Mill is kind of Indiana’s answer to Colonial Williamsburg! There are many things that I would greatly miss if I had to live even 50 years ago, much less 200 or 2000 years ago! I’m sure when Pastor McLachlan spoke of being “a 1st century church in the 21st century”, that he was referring to the kind of and quality of church that the early church was. That early church was surely committed to truth! And they suffered for it. They really took the great commission seriously. They loved each other and valued fellowship.

Kathee and I were blessed to be under Pastor McLachlan’s ministry! He had a couple of other words and phrases he used. For example: “if we can help you connect call us” or “perhaps you need to plug in“. Plug in and connect are not Biblical words but they express Biblical concepts of fellowship and commitment to the ministry and to each other.

The Fourth Baptist Young Adults are here to help young adults connect with other believers of like age and faith. We (is it ok to call myself one of you? As old as I am!) are here to help you plug in to a life of commitment and service to our blessed Savior.

