A Shadowlands Letter

The Dan Cummings’ link seems to be working intermittently. It can also be found (last time I checked) at his church’s website …. then select Pastor Dan’s blog


I came across this blog entry yesterday and it ministered to me. The background:

The author is Dan Cummings of Five Points Community Church in Auburn Hills, MI. Pastor Cummings is a graduate of Bob Jones University. In just the last several weeks he has discovered that he has stage 4 terminal cancer. Dan is a man 12 years younger than me, is married and the father to young children. In the following blog entry he writes about his cancer.

There is a similarity between this article and the Becky Vaughn story. That common theme is an absolute confidence in the sovereignty of God and a sure hope in the future!

Becky Vaughn: “Although I am an adult now, I continue to experience the truth that I have everything I need to do God’s perfect will for my life. My body has suffered the flames of this life, but my soul will never suffer the flames of eternity. I have the treasure of eternal life because I have accepted Christ.”

Dan Cummings: “Remember, God is always sovereign and always good. His purposes cannot fail. And He only desires our highest good. He has entrusted us with something that is meant to bring Him the greatest glory and to keep us from shipwreck…to taste His love and goodness in ways that will bring us the greatest good and joy. Think of the cross…sorrow and joy and glory all dancing together. I know it’s hard to grasp, but this is our ballast. Romans 8:28-32 is God’s Word to us. It’s God’s way of saying, “Everything is going to be all right.”

I trust that this will minister to 4BYA: that we would have that confidence and that hope!

I trust that you might remember Dan Cummings, his wife, and his children in prayer.

Pastor Dan Cummings’s letter: A Shadowlands Letter

Romans 8:18, “For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.”

