The Gospel of John as an evangelism tool

And truly Jesus did many other signs in the presence of His disciples, which are not written in this book; but these are written that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that believing you may have life in His name.

I find the Gospel of John to be effective in evangelism for these reasons:

  1. This Gospel is specifically written for evangelism! (“these are written that you may believe“, John 20:30,31. (above))
  2. This Gospel presents clearly the “I am” sayings of Christ (detailed here) including the startling claim of John 14:6. Jesus: “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me”.
  3. This Gospel emphasizes these key-words: believe, eternal, and everlasting.
  4. This Gospel alone has the astonishing miracle of the raising of Lazarus (John 11).
  5. As profound and theologically rich as the Gospel of John is, it is still very readable to those who are not familiar with the Bible. Because it is only 21 chapters and the chapters are but several pages, one could easily read the Gospel of John in one setting; or if one dawdles, a chapter a day for three weeks!

I’ve offered hundreds of people their own personal copy of the Gospel of John. I encourage them the read it with pen or highlighter in hand. I tell them to look for the “I am” sayings of Jesus Christ, to consider who He claims to be (like John 8:58, “before Abraham was, I AM” – where He claims to be preexistent to Abraham!).

We have Gospels of John available for any who would like to provide a copy to an unsaved friend or acquaintance. Please connect with Kathee or me if you would like a copy.

