A Friend in High Places

Ephesians 1:20, “which He worked in Christ when He raised Him from the dead and seated Him at His right hand in the heavenly places”

We studied this phrase tonight and I mentioned that we “have a friend in high places”.

This theme, of our Savior “in the heavenly places”, is found other places in God’s Word:

  1. It is a theme in Ephesians:
    • 1:3, “who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ”
    • 2:6 “and made us sit together in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus”
    • 3:10, “to the intent that now the manifold wisdom of God might be made known by the church to the principalities and powers in the heavenly places”
  2. 2 Timothy 4:18, “And the Lord will deliver me from every evil work and preserve me for His heavenly kingdom. To Him be glory forever and ever. Amen!”

The Apostle John tells us that “we have an Advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous” (1 John 2:1). (Comment: “advocate” = “παράκλητος”, “one who pleads another’s cause before a judge, a pleader, counsel for defense, legal assistant, an advocate”. Interestingly, used to describe the ministry of the Holy Spirit in John 14:16)

As our Advocate, our Savior “always lives to make intercession for” believers. (Hebrews 7:25, also Romans 8:33-35).

Thousands of years ago, Job had a confidence about a Savior in heaven:

      Job 16:19-20 (NIV)
           19 Even now my witness is in heaven;
              my advocate is on high.
           20 My intercessor is my friend
              as my eyes pour out tears to God;

Once I reported to a man who is now a Senior Vice President. Mel appreciated me and I often walked into his office. I had a “friend in a high place” at my company. My career advanced in his organization. I can’t help but believe that knowing him helped!

In the spiritual realm, every believer has a true Friend in High Places. I trust that as we pray that we might reflect upon this truth!

Leave a Reply

